Video Training: Confidentiality, Privilege, and Mandated Reporting

January 1, 2018

Under California mandated (required) reporting laws, people working in certain professions must report suspected child abuse or neglect.  This training answers many important questions about these laws, including: (1) What laws apply to mandated reporting; (2) Who must report; (3) What must be reported; and (4) How to report? This training also discusses survivor attitudes toward mandated reporting; the effects of making a mandated report; and offers recommendations for best practices specific to domestic violence organizations.

Registration and Payment

All videos are free for survivors of domestic violence/intimate partner abuse and the people who support them; California nonprofit / legal aid employees; private attorneys currently representing a survivor of domestic violence pro bono in California; members of the California Partnership to End Domestic Violence; and members of Legal Aid Association of California.

All others (including private attorneys), please pay before viewing. $35 per video. Click here to pay. In the comments section, please include the name(s) of the training(s) you are paying for. (Payment for training does not count as a tax-deductible donation.)


FVAP Staff Attorney Anya Emerson, Esq.

MCLE Credit

To receive 1.5 hours of MCLE credit in Ethics for watching this webinar, please download and complete the below evaluation form, then email it to (Be sure to download the form and save it to your device before entering your information.) Available for CA attorneys only. By submitting this form you are certifying that you viewed the entire presentation, and are electronically signing an attendance record.

Child Abuse & Protection

Was this resource helpful?

Thanks for your feedback!